‘DC Update’ Radio Hosts Economist Bruce Bartlett

Author Bruce Bartlett, originator of “Reaganomics,” critiqued harmful economic policies Oct. 22 on the DC Update edition of My Technology Lawyer Radio. The show is archived via the link, which includes past shows.

Bartlett is the author of seven books, including the best-selling Impostor: How George W. Bankrupted America and Betrayed the Reagan Legacy, and two thousand of articles in national publications including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, New Republic, Fortune and many others. His newest book, The New American Economy: The Failure of Reaganomics and a New Way Forward, was released Oct. 13.

In its review, the New York Times described him as “perhaps the most persistent — and thought-provoking — conservative critic of the party.” Bartlett has worked for Jack Kemp and Presidents Reagan and George H. W. Bush, Jude Wanniski, Gary Bauer and Ron Paul. He is a weekly columnist for Forbes.com, and has been a fellow at the Cato Institute and the Heritage Foundation.

In terms of policy, he wants the estate tax reduced, and believes that President Obama should not have taken on health reform or climate change this year. A sample of views:

On Career
I’m a syndicated columnist who spent most of his life working in Republican politics. I worked for then-Congressman Jack Kemp in the 1970s and helped draft the famous Kemp-Roth tax bill. In the early 1980s I was executive director of the Joint Economic Committee of Congress. In the late 1980s I worked for Ronald Reagan in the White House Office of Policy Development. I was deputy assistant secretary of the Treasury for economic policy during the George H.W. Bush administration. I have also worked for various conservative think tanks, including the Heritage Foundation and Cato Institute. I was fired by the National Center for Policy Analysis for writing this book [Imposter].”

On “Why I Am Anti-Republican”
“I got an e-mail from a prominent Republican asking why I am so anti-Republican these days. Since many of my friends ask the same thing I thought I would share my reply: I think the party got seriously on the wrong track during the George W. Bush years, as I explained in my Impostor book. In my opinion, it no longer bears any resemblance to the party of Ronald Reagan. I still consider myself to be a Reaganite. But I don’t see any others anywhere in the GOP these days, which is why I consider myself to be an independent.” Details.

Update is co-hosted by the show’s founder and business radio pioneer Scott Draughon and by Washington commentator Andrew Kreig. The hosts begin the show with an update on Washington policy news affecting the nation’s business, politics and quality of life. Commentary includes Draughon’s ongoing research on a Republican grassroots revival, and Kreig’s breakthrough report for Huffington Post on Tuesday’s congressional hearing: “Will An Oct. 27 DC Hearing Make History For Health Rights?”

Update radio listeners can call in questions by phone at (866) 685-7469 or by email: radio@MyTechnologyLawyer.com. As listener advisories: Mac computer users need the tool “Parallels” to hear a Windows Media Player.

About Bruce Bartlett
Bruce Bartlett is an economic historian who has spent the last 30 years working in politics and public policy. He has served in numerous governmental positions, including as a domestic policy adviser to President Ronald Reagan and a treasury official under President George H.W. Bush. He is a weekly columnist for Forbes.com. Details.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

